Eroglu given mandate to form Turkish Cypriot government


The National Unity Party (UBP) leader Dervis Eroglu received a mandate on Friday (May 1st) to form a new government in Northern Cyprus. Eroglu has a 15 day window to form the new cabinet and has said will submit a list of ministers to President Mehmet Ali Talat by Tuesday. 

In other news, the new Turkish Cypriot parliament was sworn in on Friday. The right-wing conservative UBP has 26 seats in the 50-seat parliament; Talat’s former ruling left-wing Republican Turkish Party (CTP) has 15 seats; the Democratic Party is represented by 5 lawmakers; and the Communal Democracy Party and the Freedom and Reform Party have two seats each.

Check Also

Turkey’s Erdogan Plots Power Grab Over Lawyers’ Organisations

Angered by their continued independence and support for democracy and secularism, the Turkish strongman is …