Croatia will sign EU Accession Treaty on Friday

If treaty goes ahead as expected in Brussels, country may become EU’s 28th member on July 1, 2013.

The European Commission announced that the accession treaty will be signed on Friday morning on the margins of the session of the European Council.

Presidents or Prime Ministers of all 27 EU member states will sign the treaty on behalf of the EU.

The Croatian government announced that Croatian President Ivo Josipovic and Prime Minister Jadranka Kosor, who recently lost a general election, will sign on behalf of Croatia.

After signing the treaty, Croatia will attend the EU summit as a monitor. It will be the first time that Croatia has participated in a session of a European summit.

Its representative won’t have a right to vote until Croatia becomes a full member state.

Check Also

Turkey’s Erdogan Plots Power Grab Over Lawyers’ Organisations

Angered by their continued independence and support for democracy and secularism, the Turkish strongman is …