Bulgaria ratifies Croatia’s EU accession treaty

Bulgaria’s unicameral Parliament, the National Assembly, voted by an absolute majority on February 17 2012 to ratify Croatia’s European Union accession treaty.

The speaker of the Croatian parliament, Boris Sprem, was in Parliament in Sofia for the vote at the invitation of his Bulgarian counterpart, Tsetska Tsacheva.

“This act is an expression of Bulgaria’s consistent policy in support of the European future of the region and we are among the first member states to ratify the Treaty,” Bulgarian Foreign Minister Nikolai Mladenov told Parliament.

“Europe acts as a strong magnet, as a motive for change and modernisation in our region. The success of Croatia is a very clear message to the countries of the Balkans, whose place both in historical and cultural terms is in the big European family,” he said.

Check Also

Caught on Camera: Croatia’s ‘Schengen’ Border with Serbia

Accession to the EU in 2013 and to the Schengen zone on January 1 has …