EU to seek visa-free travel for Serbia, Montenegro, Macedonia


The European Commission (EC) will ask the EU Council next week to offer visa-free travel to citizens of Montenegro, Serbia and Macedonia, EU Justice Commissioner Jacques Barrot said on Thursday (July 9th). Enlargement Commissioner Olli Rehn will officially present the proposal in Strasbourg on Tuesday.

It will require approval by the EU’s 27 justice ministers, although it doesn’t have to be unanimous. If all conditions are met, visa-free travel will be possible as of January 1st.

Check Also

Serbia’s President Will Struggle to Get Patriarch He Can Control

Serbia’s power-hungry leader will be following the upcoming election of the next Patriarch closely – …