EC allocates funds for Kosovo municipalities


Ten municipalities will benefit from a grant of 340,000 euros each provided by the European Commission (EC), which they will use to strengthen local governance. “Public administration reform and local governance reform play a key role in Kosovo’s future,” EC official Kjartan Bjornsson said on Friday (July 24th). The grants will be allocated to Gjakova, Gjilan, Mitrovica, Obilic, Podujeva, Skenderaj, Vitia, Junik, Hani i Elezit, and Mamusha.

In other news, Kosovo citizens are able to travel to China using their newly-issued passports, despite the fact Beijing has not recognised Kosovo’s independence. According to media reports Sunday, visas have been obtained at China’s Embassy in Vienna, although the visa was stamped on a letter and not on the passport. Older passports were issued by UNMIK, not the Kosovo government.

Check Also

Five Things Kosovo Must Know Before Doing a Deal with Serbia

Following the election of the new government in Kosovo, the US special presidential envoy for …