Georgia applies visa-free regime for citizens of North Caucasian republics of Russia today

Georgia introduced a visa-free regime for citizens of the North Caucasian republics of Russia from Oct.13, the Georgian Interior Ministry reported. The new regime of border crossing, which envisages for some citizens of the Russian Federation, namely for the citizens of the Chechen, Ingush, North Ossetian, Dagestan, Kabardino-Balkaria, Karachay-Cherkessia and Adygey republics, introduction of the 90-day visa-free regime will enter into force in accordance with the Georgian President’s decree dated Oct. 11, 2010.

This decision is mainly linked with the liberalization of visa regime. After opening the checkpoint Lars, the citizens of these Russian republics, had some difficulties, they had had to walk long distances and obtain a visa in Moscow in order to visit Georgia.

Georgian President Mikheil Saakashvili voiced the initiative on the ‘United Caucasus’ at the UN General Assembly.

Check Also

Turkey’s Erdogan Plots Power Grab Over Lawyers’ Organisations

Angered by their continued independence and support for democracy and secularism, the Turkish strongman is …