Danube summit participants adopt EU Strategy

Participants in a Danube summit that started in Bucharest on Monday (November 8th) adopted a declaration on the EU Strategy for the Danube Region. Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia reiterated in the document their commitment to implementing the strategy and its importance to navigation and energy inter-connectivity, environmental protection, water resources preservation and risk management. They urged all EU member states to support implementation. Attending the summit are delegations from a total of 14 Danube River countries: those mentioned above plus Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro, Moldova, Serbia and Ukraine, along with officials European institutions. Among them is European Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso.

On the sidelines of the summit, Bulgarian Prime Minister Boyko Borisov and Romanian counterpart Emil Boc asked their European partners to help their countries join the EU’s border-free Schengen Zone by the spring 2011.

Check Also

Turkey’s Erdogan Plots Power Grab Over Lawyers’ Organisations

Angered by their continued independence and support for democracy and secularism, the Turkish strongman is …