European Union to continue visa-free talks with South Caucasus

On 14 June, the European Union reiterated its readiness to facilitate people-to-people contacts with the citizens of the South Caucasus countries, namely Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia, through visa facilitation and at the later stage visa-free agreements.

Addressing the issue at the Council meeting in Luxembourg, the EU foreign ministers noted, however, that the process leading to visa-free travel should be “gradual.” They invited the European Commission to develop, before the end of 2010, a plan on how to “take cooperation forward in this area.”

Check Also

Turkey’s Erdogan Plots Power Grab Over Lawyers’ Organisations

Angered by their continued independence and support for democracy and secularism, the Turkish strongman is …