EU to provide financial aid for reforms in Western Balkans

The European Commission announced Tuesday the finalization of its plans for financial support for ongoing reforms in in the Western Balkans.

The countries included are: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Iceland, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Serbia, Turkey, as well as Kosovo for 2011–2013.

The plans, called Multi-Annual Indicative Planning Documents (MIPDs), outline a revised strategy for funding under the EU’s Instrument for Pre-Accession assistance (IPA).

“The funds should act as a catalyst to drive forward reform in the enlargement countries and support the countries along their path of European integration. The EU assistance will also directly impact upon the daily lives of citizens by contributing to improved rule of law, governance, social conditions and economic prospects, particularly important as a number of countries in the region recover from the economic crisis”, European Enlargement Commissioner Stefan Fule said.

Check Also

Turkey’s Erdogan Plots Power Grab Over Lawyers’ Organisations

Angered by their continued independence and support for democracy and secularism, the Turkish strongman is …