Bosnia elected to Security Council

Bosnia-Herzegovina has been elected as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council for the period 2010-2011, says UN General Assembly President Ali Treki.

Brazil, Gabon, Liberia and Nigeria have also become non-permanent members.

The UN Security Council is made up of 15 members: five permanent (France, Great Britain, the United States, China and Russia) and ten non-permanent, elected for a period of two years.

The non-permanent members are elected on a regional basis—Africa has three seats; Asia, Latin America, the Caribbean and Western Europe have two members each; and Eastern Europe has one seat.

One Arab country is also always on the Security Council, whether from Africa or Asia.

Five new non-permanent members are selected every year.

A two-thirds majority is needed for a country to be elected to the Security Council.

In its European geographical group, Bosnia-Herzegovina was elected with 183 votes.

The former Yugoslavia sat on the Security Council four times, and, of the countries created from its collapse, only Slovenia (1998/1999) and Croatia (2008/2009) have been members before Bosnia-Herzegovina.

The five new members will be joining Austria, Mexico, Japan, Turkey and Uganda, who will remain non-permanent Council members until January 2011.

Check Also

Bulgaria supports NATO accession talks with Bosnia, Macedonia, Georgia

Speaking at the North Atlantic Council in Foreign Ministers’ session in Brussels on Friday, Deputy …